ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
ADOPTING RULES

CR 08-058

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation adopts an order to create ch. TRANS 263,
relating to multiple trip overweight permits for wehicles transporting granular roofing
materials.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Statutes interpreted: s. 348.27(15), Stats., as created by 2007 Wis. Act 171
Statutory authority: ss. 348.25(3) and (4)(intro.) and 348.27(15)(d), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority: The Department is authorized to administer
statutes and administrative rules related to wehicle weights, widths, heights, and
lengths. Nonstatutory provisions created in 2007 Wis. Act 171, section 6, require the
Department to promulgate rules implementing a newly-created multiple trip permit for
transporting granular roofing materials by not later than August 1, 2008.

Related statute or rule: Chapter 348, Stats., and Chapters Trans 250 to 278,
Wis. Admin. Code.

Plain language analysis: This rule is required by 2007 Wis. Act 171, section 6.
The new law creates a multiple trip permit for certain overweight vehicles or wehicle
combinations transporting granular roofing materials. The law establishes certain
conditions for the permit and certain limitations on operation.

This rule implements those conditions and limitations:

e The permit allows excess gross weight of 10,000 pounds, but not to
exceed 90,000 pounds.

e The permit requires that the motor carrier on whose behalf the load is
transported be named in the permit.

e The permit requires a nhamed origin, destination, and designated route
of travel.

e The permit requires that any municipality or county whose highways
make up any part of the designated route pass a resolution allowing
that transport, and requires the permit applicant to submit copies of all
resolutions to the department along with the permit application.

The rule defines "granular roofing material" in order to make eligibility for permit
and enforcement clear and uniform.

The rule states that the permit is not valid on the interstate highway system, and
is valid on not more than 2.5 miles of the state trunk highway system.
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Summary of, and Preliminary Comparison with, Existing or Proposed Federal
Regulation: Federal law gowverns owverweight transport on certain federal highways,
including general prohibition of divisible overweight loads on the interstate highway
system. Pursuant to 23 U.S.C. section 127 and 23 C.F.R. section 658, divsible
overweight loads are not allowed on the interstate highway system. 2007 Wis. Act 171
provdes that a permit under this law may be issued for up to 2.5 miles on any state trunk
highway if such issuance of the permit is consistent with federal law. This rule is
consistent with federal law because 2007 Wis. Act 171 authorizes permits for this type of
divisible load and transport is not allowed on the interstate highway system.

Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States:

Michigan: Michigan has no rule or statute authorizng owerweight loads of
granular roofing materials, or similar divisible overweight loads.

Minnesota: Minnesota has no rule or statute authorizing owverweight loads of
granular roofing materials, or similar divisible overweight loads.

lllinois: lllinois has no rule or statute authorizing overweight loads of granular
roofing materials, or similar divisible overweight loads.

lowa: lowa has no rule or statute authorizing overweight loads of granular roofing
materials, or similar divisible overweight loads.

Summary of Factual Data and Analytical Methodologies Used and How the
Related Fndings Support the Regulatory Approach Chosen: This rule implements a
newly-enacted law. The Department's implementation of the law, including policies,
procedures, and requirements, is the same as the Department applies to all similar
multiple trip permits.

Effect on Small Business and, If Applicable, Any Analysis and Supporting
Documentation Used to Determine Effect on Small Businesses: This rule implements
2007 Wis. Act 171. The law will allow all businesses, including small businesses, to
transport granular roofing materials at weights exceeding state load limits. This would
havwe a beneficial effect on small businesses. The Department’'s Regulatory Review
Coordinator may be contacted by e-mail at ralph.sanders @dot.state.wi.us, or by calling
(414) 438-4585.

Fscal effect: The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal impact on the
liabilities or revenues of any county, city, village, town, school district, vocational,
technical and adult education district, sewerage district, or federally-recognized tribes or
bands.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector: The Department estimates that
there will be no fiscal impact on state or private sector revenues or liabilities.

Agency contact person and copies of rule: Copies of the rule maybe obtained,
without cost, by writing to Carson Frazier, Department of Transportation, Bureau of
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Vehicle Senices, Room 255, P. O. Box 7911, Madison, WI 53707-7911. You may also
contact Ms. Frazer by phone at (608)266-7857 or via e-mail:
carson.frazer@dot.state.wi.us.

TEXT OF RULE
SECTION 1. Chapter Trans 263 is created to read:
CHAPTER TRANS 263

MULTIPLE TRIP OVERWEIGHT PERMITS FOR
VEHICLES TRANSPORTING GRANULAR ROOFING MATERIALS

Trans 263.01 Purpose. The purpose of this chapter is to establish standards
and procedures for the issuance of overweight permits for the transportation of granular
roofing materials, pursuantto s. 348.27(15), Stats.

Trans 263.02 Definitions. Unless otherwise stated, the definitions of words and
phrases in ss. 340.01 and 348.01(2), Stats., and s. Trans 250.02 apply to this chapter.
In this chapter:

(1) “Granular roofing materials” means small grains, pellets, and particles of
naturally occurring mineral product transported in bulk from a mine to a processing plant
where the product is processed or stored for sale, and to be used solely for the
manufacture of roofing materials, including roofing shingles.

(2) “Permit” means multiple trip owerweight permits authorized under
s.348.27(15), Stats., which includes permit pages, copies of all written approvals for
movement on local highways, a copy of this chapter, a copy of ch. Trans 251, and any
other written conditions of movement issued by the department.

Trans 263.03 Overweight permits; general. (1) The department may issue
annual or consecutive month permits for the transportation of overweight loads in
wvehicles meeting the requirements of this chapter.

(2) A permit issued under this chapter is not a guarantee of the sufficiencyof any



highway or structure for the transporting of the vehicle or load, or both.

Trans 263.04 Permit application. An application for a permit shall be submitted
on a department form and shall include all of the following:

(1) The name, address, telephone number, and electronic mail address of the
applicant motor carrier on whose behalf the load is to be transported.

(2) The name and address of the applicant’s insurer, and the applicant's policy
number and policy expiration date.

(3) The date on which the applicant seeks to hawe the permit first become valid,
not more than 60 days later than the date of application.

(4) The gross weight of the wehicle.

(5) An indication of whether the vehicle is a combination wehicle and the type of
combination, the make, year, and wehicle identification number for the vehicle.

(6) An affirmation that the owner has insurance in the amounts required by this
chapter or such higher amount as may be required by the department and that the
person accepts the terms of the issuance of a permit under this chapter.

(7) The location of the origin and the location of the destination of the load, and
the designated route over which the load will be transported.

(8) For each local road or county highway permitted under s. Trans 263.06(4) on
which the applicant seeks authority to operate, a copy of everyresolution adopted bythe
gowverning body of each municipality or county having jurisdiction owver such streets or
highways approving the transportation of the load ower that portion of the designated

route that is on streets or highways under the jurisdiction of that municipality or county.

Note: Applications are available upon request from the Motor Carrier Services
Section Permit Unit of the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, 4802
Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7980, Madison, WI 53707.

Note: Permit application procedures are specified in s. Trans 250.025. A permit
application may be submitted in person or by mail to the Motor Carrier Services
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Section Permit Unit. The Motor Carrier Services Section Permit Unit of the
Wisconsin Department of Transportation is located at 4802 Sheboygan Avenue,
Room 151, P.O. Box 7980, Madison, WI 53707.

Trans 263.05 Hligibility. The department may issue permits for vehicles under
this chapter onlyto applicants that meet all of the following requirements:

(1) STATUTORY REQUIREMENTS. The whicle and any load satisfy the
requirements for a permit under ss. 348.25 and 348.27(15), Stats.

(2) TRANSPORTATION OF SPECIFIC COMMODITY. The application may not
seek authority to transport any commodity or goods other than granular roofing materials,
as provded in s. 348.27(15), Stats.

(3) MAXIMUM SIZE. The wehicle may not exceed 8 feet 6 inches in width, nor 13
feet 6 inches in height. Semi-tractor and semi-trailer combinations may not exceed 75
feet in owerall length. Motor truck and trailer combinations may not exceed 65 feet in
owerall length. Single vehicles, not operating in combination, may not exceed 40 feet in
length. Vehicle combinations consisting of a semi-tractor and semi-trailer exceeding 65
feet in owerall length may not travel on state highways identified by the department as
limiting operation to 65 feet or less in length, and may travel only on local roads and
highways designated as long truck routes in ch. Trans 276.

(4) PNEUMATIC TIRES. The wehicle shall be equipped with pneumatic tires.

(5) MAXIMUM GROSS WEIGHT. The wehicle, including any load, may not exceed
the maximum gross weight limitations under s. 348.15(3)(c), Stats., by more than 10,000
pounds, and the wehicle, including any load, may not exceed 90,000 pounds gross
weight.

(6) MAXIMUM AXLE WEIGHTS. AXe weights may not exceed those specified in s.
Trans 251.06.

(7) BALANCED LOAD. Wheels on one side of the vehicle may not carry more than
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60% of the load.

Trans 263.06 Validity. A permitissued under this chapter is valid onlyif all of the
following conditions are met:

(1) PERMITTED VEHICLE ONLY. It is used for the wehicle described in the
application and permit.

(2) PERMIT CONDITIONS FOLLOWED. All conditions of the permit are met,
including all maximum axe, ade combination, total weight limitations, and restrictions
on speed, time or route of travel.

(3) VEHICLE ELIGIBLE FOR PERMIT. The wehicle meets all the requirements of
this chapter.

(4) AREA OF OPERATION. The wehicle is operated in Wisconsin on the route
designated in the permit.

(5) OPERATION ON INTERSTATE HIGHWAYS PROHIBITED. This permit is not
valid on highways designated as part of the national system of interstate and defense
highways.

(6) OPERATION ON STATE TRUNK HIGHWAYS RESTRICTED. This permit is
valid for operation on not more than 2.5 miles of any state trunk highway.

(7) LAWFUL OPERATION. The driver of the vehicle is obeying all Wisconsin laws
contained in chs. 194 and 340 to 349, Stats., and chs. Trans 305 and 325 to 327.

(8) PERMIT CARRIED ON VEHICLE. The driver carries the permit with attached
local road approval resolutions in the vehicle and available for inspection by any police
officer, representative of the department or any local authority or person in charge of
maintaining the highway being used.

(9) OBEY POSTED WEIGHT AND SPEED LIMITS. The wvehicle does not exceed



any posted weight limit for a bridge or highway or any temporary weight restriction due to
construction or seasonal conditions, and does not exceed any posted speed limits.

(10) MINIMUM FOLLOWING DISTANCE MAINTAINED. The driver maintains a
distance of 500 feet between the wehicle and any preceding vehicle on the highway,
whenewver reasonable and practical.

(11) ALLOW PASSING. The driver allows approaching or owertaking traffic to
pass.

(12) INSURANCE MAINTAINED. Insurance on the wehicle is maintained in
accordance with s. Trans 263.08.

(13) PROPER REGISTRATION. If the wehicle is required to be registered by
Wisconsin law, registration shall be at not less than the permit weight or at the
maximum available registration weight, whichewer is less.

(14) OPERATION ON PAVEMENT SURFACE. The right wheels of the wvehicle do
not leave the roadway.

(15) ALCOHOL USE PROHIBITED. The driver may not do any of the following:

(@) Consume any alcohol bewerage within 4 hours of being on duty time,
regardless of alcohol content.

(b) Hawve an alcohol concentration abowe 0.0.

(c) Possess an intoxicating bewverage, regardless of alcohol content.

Note: Section 346.63(7)(@), Stats., is applicable to all drivers of commercial
motor vehicles.

(16) DRIVER PROPERLY LICENSED. The driver holds all required licenses
bearing the proper classes and endorsements needed to operate the vehicle.
(17) ALL OTHER NEEDED PERMITS OBTAINED. All other operational permits

required by the department or other agencies having jurisdiction over the highways used



bythe permittee are obtained.

(18) ADVERSE WEATHER AND ROAD CONDITIONS. Apermitis notvalid during
periods when adwverse weather or road conditions, such as fog, smoke, heawrain, snow
or ice, or wind velocity, impair the safety of a movement under the permit.

(19) MOTOR CARRIER AND DESIGNATED ROUTE. As stated in
S. 348.27(15)(b), Stats., this permit is valid only for the motor carrier on behalf of which
the load is carried; only from the origin and to the destination cited in the permit
application; and only on the route designated in the permit application.

Trans 263.065 Times of operation. (1) Except as otherwise specified in a
permit, a vehicle or load, or both, that is overweight, but not oversize, may operate 24
hours a day, including weekends and holidays.

(2) The department may issue a permit for times other than those specified in
sub. (1), under extraordinary circumstances when, in the opinion of the department,
public health and welfare is better sened, and may impose additional conditions to
promote the safe operation of the wehicle and load and to reflect conditions deemed
necessarybylocal officials in iew of local conditions.

Trans 263.07 Transfers. In the ewvent of a breakdown or other circumstance
requiring a change of the power unit or trailer identified on the permit, the permit holder
may transfer the permit to another vehicle, under the control of the permittee, following
the completion of a new application and the issuance of a new permit. The words, “This
is a transfer from permit #<original permit number>,” shall be written on the bottom of
the application.

Trans 263.08 Insurance and liability conditions. (1) A permittee shall do all of

the following:



(@) Pay any claim for any bodily injury or property damage resulting from operation
under the permit for which the permittee is legally responsible.

(b) Hold the state, its subdivisions, officers, employees and agents harmless
from any claim that may arise from operation over public highways under the permit.

(c) Be liable for all damage which any highway or its appurtenances may sustain
byreason of anyoperation under the permit.

(2) The department may waive insurance requirements for permits issued to units
of government.

(3) Where a certificate of insurance is required, no insurer may cancel the
certificate of insurance without providing the department 10 days advance written notice
of the cancellation.

(4) Unless different amounts are required under sub. (5), the permittee shall carry
insurance in either of the following minimum amounts:

(a) When the permitted load is not overweight by more than 25%:

Bodilyinjury liability—each person $150,000 or $750,000

Bodilyinjury liability—each accident $450,000 combined single

Property damage liability—each accident $300,000 limit

(b) When the permitted load exceeds the weight limitations in par. (a):

Bodilyinjury liability—each person $200,000 or $1,000,000

Bodilyinjury liability—each accident $600,000 combined single

Property damage liability—each accident $400,000 limit

(5) The department may require a permittee to provde more bodily injury or
damage liability coverage than the minimum amounts specified in sub. (4).

(6) A permittee shall certify, and may be required to present satisfactory written



evidence, that the amount of insurance cowverage required under sub. (4) or (5), or a bond
in a form satisfactory to the department, shall be in effect for the wehicle and load
designated in the permit while operating on the public highway, unless this requirement
Is expresslywaived by the department.

Trans 263.09 Denial, suspension or revocation of permit. (1) The department
may deny, suspend, or rewoke a permit for good cause, pursuant to s. 348.25(7), Stats.
Grounds for the denial, suspension, or revocation of a permit include the following:

(@) Violation of any condition of a permit.

(b) Preventing an employee of the department or a law enforcement officer from
performing his or her official duties, or interfering with the lawful performance of his or
her duties.

(c) Physically assaulting an employee of the department or a law enforcement
officer while performing his or her official duties.

(d) Making a material misstatement in an application for a permit.

(e) Unauthorized alteration of a permit.

(f) Refusal or failure, without just cause, to produce required records.

(g) Nonpayment of the application fee or payment bya check thatis subsequently
dishonored bythe drawee or bank.

(h) Violation of any other applicable provision under ch. 348, Stats., or this
chapter.

(2) A permittee shall immediately return a suspended or rewked permit to the
department after receiving notice from the department of the suspension or revocation of

the permit.

Note: If a permit is denied, suspended, or revoked, an applicant or permittee
may request a hearing before the Department of Administration Division of
Hearings and Appeals, s. 348.25(9), Stats.
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(END OF RULE TEXT)

Effective Date. This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following
publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.),
Stats.

Signed at Madison, Wisconsin, this day of
October, 2008.

FRANK J. BUSALACCHI
Secretary
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
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